Llŷn Maritime Museum
The museum is located within St Mary's Church. Whist the church was rebuilt between 1825-1827, it was founded during the 6th century. The old church houses a unique collection of maritime artifacts which tell the story of the ships that were built locally, the sailors and captains. In the graveyard surrounding the church are just some of the many graves of the sailors and captains, from Nefyn and the surrounding area. A survey and register of these graves has been undertaken by Gwynedd Family History Society.
The museum was founded in 1977 by a group of local volunteers who wanted to showcase the areas rich maritime heritage. However in 2000, the museum was forced to close on the grounds of Health and Safety.
In 2007, members of the community came forward and formed a new committee to reopen the museum for the benefit of visitors and the local community. A funding package was successful which included grant funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, the Welsh Assembly Government, Tir a Môr fund, AONB Llŷn, Nefyn Town Trust, Gwynedd Council and the Cyfenter fund.
The museum will house a permanent exhibition, stage for small performances, research space and a cafe and shop. The museum is of free entry to encourage multiple visits. A varied programme events is planned which will include guest lectures, activities for children, temporary exhibitions and opportunities to volunteer and work experience.
Pre booking essential. Contact the museum to book your visit
01758 721 313